A Setback is a Setup For a Comeback

*disclaimer: if you cannot handle gore, I apologize. You’re about to see the inside of a knee!*

Remember once upon a time when I was an avid (albeit slowww.as.shit) runner? Yeah…. I barely do it was so long ago myself. But I used to love lacing up my Brooks at zero dark thirty in the morning and hitting the pavement. Somewhere along the way it became a chore {probably after my GOD AWFUL debut marathon) and I stopped doing it apart from an impromptu half marathon last May .

A couple weeks after I ran that half marathon (where I PR’d somehow) I went to training for the Army from May-September and while we ran there, it was nothing more than 3-4miles at time and usually quite slow group runs. I was finally getting my mojo back… then this happened.

...look close and you can see my ACL!

…look close and you can see my ACL!

 

Screen shot 2013-10-17 at 9.25.09 PM

a week later

a week later

30 stitches, 2.5 weeks in an immobilizer & crutches, 5 weeks before I could walk NORMALLY & ~6.5 weeks before I could run and do any leg lifts. Needless to say it was a bit of a setback.

Wednesday morning I went out in the dark for a 15min out & 15min back run.. turned it to 12min & back because I was SUCKING WIND. Holy cow did I lose my running fitness. Starting all over again is never easy… but it gives me something to focus on and work towards. And after a nice conversation with Laura, I realized getting back into my running game will give me something to focus on and a goal to work towards. Which I desperately need in this point in my life quarter-life crisis.

Next fall I will be running the Chicago Marathon. I know you’re thinking that’s so far away how are you setting goals for that? Well if I don’t start now I’m not going to. Here’s the plan to get back into {& surpass where I was before!} running shape:

  • November: Build up to a ~15-18mi/wk schedule, with a long run of 7 miles
  • December: Jingle Bell 10k
  • January-March: Follow the RW guidance on building base mileage up to about 20miles/week
  • March-May: 12 week training program for a half marathon (exact race TBD…probably Madison Mini Marathon)
  • May: a “recovery” month to listen to my body while keeping mileage around 25 mi/week
  • June-October: GAME TIME BABY. Train for the Chicago Marathon. And I’m going to do it right this time. Speedwork, long runs, recovery runs, track workouts…the whole she-bang. (anyone willing to give me some expert advice!?)

I’m sure Ill throw in a couple races here and there (10ks). Ideally I’d like to find a half marathon during marathon training, but those months aren’t really big race months around here.

So there you have it..that’s my plan to finally be back. I know I’ll be hooked once I do another race again. I just have to build the self-esteem; running these days is such a blow to the ego. 😉

What’s the worst injury you had?

Any advice to get back into shape quick? 

5 thoughts on “A Setback is a Setup For a Comeback

  1. Brittany

    Not gonna lie…these images make my stomach flop. Yet I continue to look at them. They are SO intense and I cannot believe you had this happen to you!! As for getting back into shape, take it slow..don’t have any expectations that are unreasonable, and try to have fun!!

    Reply
  2. Claire

    How did I miss this post?!! Girl, you are amazing. I had to have knee surgery from soccer in high school which ended my entire athletic career, sadly. However, I think your plan is PERFECT. You should look for a race in Florida to run and what a coincidence, you can meet me! 😉

    Reply
    1. kcriemer Post author

      i would so be down for that… if I had tons of extra money! ha 🙂 maybe someday though. OR we could do the RNR vegas half marathon next fall… now that’d be one heck of a way to meet up!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

