On Letting Go.

I had a different post planned for today but things panned out differently and had me wrapped up in my thoughts. 

If you guys couldn’t tell, I’m incredibly Type A. I don’t enjoy just letting things happen & ‘what’s meant to be will be’. I’d much rather have everything planned out to a T–even things that are 5, 10, 20 years from now. I want to know exactly what my career will be, where I’ll be living, who I’m married to, etc. {Yet I’m in the Army. And dating someone in the Army. You can’t plan anything out in the lifestyle I have chosen.} 

source: “Type A individuals tend to be very competitive and self-critical. They strive toward goals without feeling a sense of joy in their efforts or accomplishments… Type A individuals are easily ‘wound up’ and tend to overreact. Type A personalities experience a constant sense of urgency: Type A people seem to be in a constant struggle against the clock.”

Image

.. Yeah I think I can just replace the definition of Type A with my name. Which is not a good thing and is becoming incredibly problematic. As I alluded earlier, things with Tyler have not been a cake walk lately. And 90% of it is my fault. 

The Type A in me needs to know when EVERYTHING will happen for us (and me individually). And because of this I am losing sight of the good things we have NOW. The future is never guaranteed so why am I so wound up in what the next year(s) will bring for us? I need to revert to focusing on the wonderful parts of our relationship instead of trying to force everything into place. 

So my goal for the next few months is to simply let go. Let go of trying to control how each minute, hour, day, week, month & year will pan out. Because if I keep trying to plan everything out, I miss out on the good that’s right in front of me. 

Jeremiah 29:11 has always meant so much to me & with each difficult day it means more and more. 

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future'”. 

Image

Here’s to letting go… 

 

8 thoughts on “On Letting Go.

  1. carrie

    without a doubt one of my favorite verses in the bible. i read it and immediately feel a calm come over me. letting go is one of those things that is such a simple concept, but often hard to carry out. good luck! you’ll do great!

    Reply
  2. Claire

    I totally used to be the same way. I had my entire life planned out. And then I quit my job, moved to Florida and now have no clue where I’ll be this time next year. If you ever need someone to talk, I’m here girl! Sending you some love through wordpress! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

