Drinking The Kool-Aid

Whew-what a week couple weeks it’s been. Feels like it should be Friday five times over since I’ve been at my desk for the past 11 days, only 2 more to go! I’m so out of it that today I tried to put my left boot on right foot & almost poured my almond milk directly into my protein powder container… that would have been catastrophic!!

Image

After a tough workout tonight I can finally catch up on The Voice and write this post out 🙂

I’m sure pretty much everyone knows what I’m alluding to with that title: after months of toying with it I finally have begun my CrossFit journey. 

Image

My fitness journey has been a long one; 13 years of competitive swimming, 2+ years of distance running, heavy weight lifting… yet I never could achieve the results I want {& deserve}. After much discussion with Tyler and friends of mine who do CrossFit I finally have bit the bullet… the box that’s only 6(!) minutes from my apartment offers a killer military discount… $80/mo for unlimited versus the regular $150/mo. SCOREx2. So the financial excuse I kept using wouldn’t cut it anymore. Truthfully, I’ve been holding off because I have social anxiety and new things really scare me… but I think CrossFit is exactly what my body needs & will respond to.

Like most boxes, newbies have to take an ‘on-ramp’ course. I went last night and really enjoyed it. I knew right when I walked in I’d love it…everyone was cheering on the people doing the 5pm WOD. So inspirational.

During the intro class we worked on a lot of the fundamentals that I need work on (double unders, muscle up progressions). Tomorrow we will be working on snatch technique; something entirely new to me! Because it is not as challenging as an actual WOD, I still will be keeping my other gym membership until I progress into the real classes–which shouldn’t be long because of my strength and knowledge I already have built. The coach was impressed with the strength I have! Hard work does pay off. 🙂

I’m going to be patient during this on-ramp course and soak in as much as I can. I can’t wait to get into the actual classes to push myself! But I will have to remind myself to ease into it..which will be hard with my competitive nature 😉

A look into my future–here’s yesterdays WOD:

 2-4-6-8-10-12 AFAP

power snatch w.35k m.50
dead hang pull up
5m plate push w.15k m.20k

… yeah that’s crazy & I might die (happily) 

Many people have negative stances on CrossFit and the body types it builds, it’s ‘cult-like’ feeling, etc. I think it’s going to introduce me to new people too which is something I really need right now! Besides, how can you tell me Camille Leblanc-bazinet is ‘too bulky’ and ‘manly’:

Image

I think she is stunning… and I have a huge lady crush on her!

I’m so excited to see where this takes me…hoping I can finally lean out and have all the muscle thats ‘protected’ 😉 start to pop in a few months time. It’s going to be hard work but I’m READY!

Do you CrossFit? 

7 thoughts on “Drinking The Kool-Aid

  1. Kaylie @ FitnessMovesYou

    I think it is great that you are trying Crossfit- lifting heavy and being strong is awesome! Even if you get crap from people because “girls shouldn’t be too muscular”- pshh don’t listen to ’em. Strength is beautiful!

    Reply
  2. Liz

    I love CrossFit, just be careful with the owners and programming. I think CrossFit has become too popular in the sense that EVERYBODY can open gyms with very little knowledge. The cert is easy to get. I’ve gone in and out of a lot of gyms where the owner shouldn’t have owned gyms, and the only reason I stayed safe was because I had a good background in it from a good coach. There shouldn’t be a lot of heavy lifting days in CrossFit, and there shouldn’t be a ton of heavy lifting in one WOD. Make sure the coach can explain the reasons for teaching what they do and has a method to creating the WODS that goes beyond what is fun to do. Unfortunately, I think right now can be a scary time to get into CF and I hesitate to recommend it to anybody unless I’ve seen the gym and coaches, because it really is to a point where it can just be dangerous. Since you have been lifting, hopefully you know your limits and know good form, but the oly lifts especially can really take people out if you have somebody who isn’t actually more knowledgable than just a level 1 cert.

    Reply
    1. kcriemer Post author

      I fully agree-it’s all the craze right now. With boxes opening up all over the place what seems like all the time it’s hard to know what you’re getting into. Luckily a friend of mine knows the owner and his background (all reputable credentials). Between that and my basis and understanding of lifting I know to listen to my body and not push my limits.

      Reply
  3. Claire @ Keeping Up With Claire

    I have a feeling you, Ms. Strength Training Lover, are going to love CrossFit! I’ll be the first to say I don’t think it is anything I would ever enjoy and would never be my thing but I know people LOOOOOVE it. And if you think about it, basically any sport is a cult. CrossFit, running, yoga…people just bash CrossFit because it’s the newest fad. I hope it’s everything you’re looking for!

    Reply
    1. kcriemer Post author

      haha I do love my strength training! and I’m trying my hardest to incorporate some running again… it’s such a chore =/

      there’s a chance the badgers could go to a bowl game in FL!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

