Workout Wednesday

It’s no secret that I have an addiction to my gym sessions. At times it’s been unhealthy where I beat myself up if I didn’t make it to the gym, or restrict calories that day. Lately I’ve been getting out my frustration/sadness/hurt with Crossfit. It truly has been helping and I leave the box in a great mood–exhausted, yet rejuvenated. And there’s some real fun people at the 5:30 am WOD.

That being said…. I do need to be careful to not take it too far. I still need to remember how critical REST is in training. So tomorrow, I shall rest. I have not taken a day off since last Friday and my body is yelling screaming at me. 

This week has been brutal at the box. And I’ve loved it. So without further adieu. 

Saturday: 
Partner WOD at Crossfit Ancile with a really great friend (and holy shit is there eye candy at her box..!) 
2 rounds: 8 min AMRAP: 20 pull ups, 30 dead lifts, 40 burpees, 50 wall balls, 4 min AMRAP: ground to overhead (clean–> push press)

Sunday: 
40min stairmill & I worked on back squat technique & kipping pull-ups

Image

Monday: 
5×3 up to heavy deadlift (went to 95kg, still working on form) on the 2 min 
Finisher: DIANE: 21-15-9 deadlift/HSPU (mod: incline pushups) 

Image

my ass is FINALLY growing!

Tuesday: 
pistol progressions & rope climbing 
WOD: 3k row (12:22) I beat some girls training for The Games! The coach asked me if I had any plans of ever training/competing in the games. And it made me think–MAYBE someday (2015? 2016?)

I need a big dream to work towards. DREAM BIG right?

Today: 
snatch sequence 
WOD: 5 RFT: 5 snatch (25kg), 10 kipping pull-ups, 20 ball slams (7kg) 17:20. 

Image

survived my first hand rip from kipping pull ups. but stringing them together better!

I thought I was going to die after tonight’s WOD which is why I’m listening to my body and taking a rest day (I will do a slow run on the TM) regardless of how great the workout is tomorrow. 

I’m a little irritated as I’ve gained 4 pounds and am tipping scale at my heaviest. I know deep down it’s muscle but it’s hard to ignore that number. I was a girl who hopped on the scale every single time I walked into the bathroom. I really should get rid of it.

I plan on fully immersing myself–the gym is my new boyfriend =) 

Image

Time to get under the heated blanket and read Divergent. I am addicted.

Tell me: Do you listen to your body all the time when it tells you to rest? How do you know when you’re overdoing it?

~KC

2 thoughts on “Workout Wednesday

  1. Kaylie @ FitnessMovesYou

    I do the same thing! I have been gaining muscle (and loosing fat-yeay) and that stupid number in the scale makes me crazy! I feel heavier but everyone says I look great… stupid scale. Don’t listen to the 4 lb gain- you look amazing!!!

    Reply
  2. Brittany

    Girrrrlll you are looking GOOD!! I have become so obsessed with the gym too, I find that I NEED it. I try to listen to my body and take a day here and there to do something calm like a walk, but I find for my overall well being I need the gym. It helps when I feel down 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

