Let’s talk about Me, Let’s talk about I.

Lately many posts about resolutions/goals have been surfacing with yet another New Year right around the corner. While I fully endorse and encourage people to create resolutions and strive for them, so many people make these resolutions without thinking about the means to achieve them; mini-goals. 

“I want to lose 20 lbs:” Great. But you might want to clean up diet, start a new workout regiment, etc. Unfortunately delivery pizza + beer will not lead to this weight loss. Although that’d be the life… 

“I want a new job:” Most do except for those incredibly fortunate individuals who have discovered their niche. But it won’t come to you. You have to actively pursue your career—constant sprucing of the resume and checking job engine websites.

“I want to save my money:” Might want to create a budget to do that and really track where your money goes (apart from rent, bills, etc.) The lattes, dining out, bar tabs sure do add up. <– guilty

“I want to make new friends:” Again, friends won’t magically appear on your doorstep (trust me, I know). Find new organizations and clubs to branch out. 

Every individual makes their own resolutions for their own reasons. But the mini-goals to achieve them are paramount in the long road towards success. After all, Rome wasn’t built over night. 

Most years I try to make many resolutions (no soda, Starbucks once a week, lose 15 lbs, etc.) but this year I’m changing my focus.

I have one resolution; with many mini-goals leading up to it. 

2014 Resolution: I want to will establish a healthy relationship—with myself.

With all the struggles I’ve been handed lately I’ve realized a lot. It’s time to live for ME–not to please anyone else. 

This year I vow to myself to find self-love & self-worth. To learn to treat my body with the respect that it deserves. To pursue my passions, wherever they may lie. To become centered again. 

This resolution is huge and I need the mini-goals to help me get there: 

  1. continue to immerse myself in Crossfit 
  2. GO PALEO! {For months now I feel sick whenever I eat, and instead of fueling my body with the proper nutrients I need I continued to eat what I did regardless of knowing I’d feel like crap after. It’s finally time to give my body what it needs!} 
  3. Become a Certified Personal Trainer through ACE!!
    Image
  4. Re-establish and be devoted to my relationship with Christ. Daily devotionals, bible studies, church attendance. Nothing is more empowering.

  5. Find what makes me tick. I’m going to dive into researching schools, careers, programs. Whatever it takes to find my passion.

This year I’m making me a priority. 2014 has big things in store for me…either a new job or going back to school. You may even see a big out-of-state move in the next 12 months. Time to find my passions and love myself. 

It may sound selfish but it’s time I put me first. I don’t have to say “no” to something I want to please someone else. 
Image

What are you doing for YOU this year? What are your goals/resolutions for 2014?

11 thoughts on “Let’s talk about Me, Let’s talk about I.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Workouts | Livin' Life In Louie

  2. Claire

    The good news is I think you’re already well on your way to achieving your goal. Just from seeing your daily posts and talking with you, it’s obvious how passionate you are about achieving that and really making this year about YOU. I’m one of those people who has struggled to put myself first before and it took me a long time before I realized that the relationship you have with yourself is the most important one. It dictates every other aspect of your life and really has an impact on all other relationships you have, whether it be family, friends, or boyfriend/girlfriend. This is going to be YOUR year girly! I just have a feeling. ❤

    Reply
  3. Kaylie @ FitnessMovesYou

    When I read the saving money one, I thought “this is my life!!!” 😉

    I love your resolution! I eat semi – paleo and it is changing my life. I feel Sooo much stronger and healthy. Good luck!

    Reply
  4. christyruns

    Great goals for the year. I try to eat Paleo, hard with kids who want bread and pasta all the time, but I am working on them! I also picked up a daily devotional book this year and am working on reconnecting with my spiritual side. I haven’t been to church in years and am really missing it lately.

    Good luck in 2014!

    Reply
  5. thesavedrunner

    I love your resolutions! You have to take care of yourself if you want to help anyone else. And I definitely believe if you make your relationship with Christ a priority, everything else will fall into place too. I hope this is a great year for you!

    Reply
  6. Karey at Nutty About Health

    Great goals!! I think putting yourself is important… sometimes it just NEEDS to be done! Going Paleo has helped me to feel SO much better & has improved my relationship with food – which is one of the major things I’ve been working on (I recently quit calorie counting after over 5 years).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

