The Do’s and Don’t’s of Dating…

Before I get to the meat & potatoes of this post let me just say that my valetine’s day ended up being pretty darn great… even though the date ended up being that day solely cause I was off–nothing to do with valentine’s day! 

After battling a nasty cold with a fever Wednesday night and Thursday I was not sure I was going to be able to go skiing for my first time EVER (yes, I grew up in WI, am 23 and finally just attempted skiing…) on Friday. But I slammed Sudafed, Mucinex & slept over 12 hours and woke up Friday ready to rock and roll. (…and roll down the hill I did.) 

It was so much fun! The guy helped me with everything… and even at end of the day when I said he should go down the harder runs (he’s a big skier) he stayed by me…maybe because it was fun to watch me fall. It was such a fun day. Pair skiing with some good Wisconsin beers, pizza, easy conversation and then curling up to some Olympics and wine on the couch after–did not see this coming my way and I couldn’t be happier. 

Image

{{I even made it down the blue runs without falling by the end of the day. Using part of my tax return to invest in my own skis, bindings & boots!!}

——

But all this talk brings me to the main point–dating. After being in a longer relationship I apparently forgot all the ‘rules’ of dating. 

I know, I know. You’re probably thinking ‘what rules?’ But when you go from a long-term relationship to just dating/seeing someone (whatever the fuq people call it these days…) it’s a tough adjustment. Or I’m just being a woman and overthinking things. 

Definitely the latter 😉

Image

Can I text him or is it too soon? Am I thin/pretty/insert any adjective here enough for him? Can I ask him to a hockey game this weekend if it’s only Monday? What if he’s seeing other people?! 

You get where I’m going with this. There’s so many unwritten rules of dating it seems and I don’t want to mess this up if I have a good feeling, which I do–a really really good feeling. 

Image

My girlfriends are all married already and they think I’m silly to always be second-guessing myself whether he’s interested at all…I think it’s safe to say that he is interested (duh). Now if I could just grow {proverbial} balls and not be a chicken shit and just ask him to this hockey game I want to go to this weekend. 

But I’m stuck in this mentality that I have to wait for him to ask me to do something. Times are changing. I must shit or get off the pot. 

Image

Re-reading this I apologize for the profanity (except not really cause that’s who I am) but I do apologize for it being all over the place. So many thoughts and I need advice!

Tell me: What are ‘rules’ you abide by in dating? Do you think I should just ask him? HELP! 

11 thoughts on “The Do’s and Don’t’s of Dating…

    1. kcriemer Post author

      i like the way you think. that’s the attitude i’m trying to get but after being out of the ‘dating’ game for awhile it’s tough! but F it 😀

      Reply
    1. kcriemer Post author

      haha this made me laugh. luckily all the conversation has come very naturally thank goodness otherwise i’d be so so awkward.
      it helps we can connect with military… but now that all the initial dates are done i’m clueless on how to proceed !!!

      Reply
  1. Scrambled Megs

    dating rules are SO DUMB and frustrating. i was out of the game for 8 years and i can tell you how daunting it is meeting new people and going out again. great post! made me chuckle

    Reply
  2. Britta

    RULES SUCK!! And honestly, I found that at the end of the day, the guy doesn’t actually care if its monday and the game is on friday if he wants to go with you! Just do what you want to do, text him if you want to, ask him questions, and don’t over think it – cause he isn’t either!

    I used to over think things all the time but I realized that there is just NO POINT in doing it! But I hear you about dating, I was in a 4 year relationship and afterwards I kept thinking, “HOW do I go on a date! Do I offer to pay? What do we talk about? What do I wear…ahhhh!” – yup. And then when you meet someone your really like, it doesn’t matter because you can just be yourself because that’s what he likes best about you anyway.

    anywho, glad you had such a wonderful date and that you enjoyed skiing! So nice of the guy to be so helpful – skiing is hard when you first get started!

    Reply
  3. Jade

    My hubby would say that if the guy is interested, he won’t waste anytime letting you know it. That being said, if you want to go to a hockey game with him, you should ask him to go with you.

    Reply
  4. alextriesitout

    Ask! I would never have my fiance now if I didn’t ask. Some guys are just shy ;).

    And nice job skiing! I’m absolutely horrible at it.

    Reply
  5. Brittany

    I can’t even fathom dating anymore…it freaks me out hahaha. I would definitely ask him to the game though, waiting for him to always make the first move isn’t the best way! Just go for it! You have literally nothing to loose. This will let him know you are interested too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

