A Day in the Life: My New {Loved} Normal

My (week) days have changed quite a bit since the move. Here’s a look into the crazy schedule and how I balance 2 workouts a day while working full-time!

0430: The blaring of ‘No Sleep for Brooklyn’ as my first alarm clock. Begrudgingly stumble out of bed.

Screen shot 2014-06-29 at 7.16.19 PM

0435: ‘Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy’ serves as a backup alarm on those really tricky mornings where I’m absurdly tired/sore and bed seems better. Between this second alarm and an internal dialogue I’m changing into my gym clothes in about 2 minutes and zombie walking to my car.

0445-0455: Blare FFDP Pandora station on my way to the box. Nothing like some angry music to motivate myself before a killer WOD.

*Favorite part of day from 0500-0645*

0500-0600: CrossFit WOD. I love being physically challenged and exceeding new limits but the mental strength I have gained in 9 months of doing CrossFit has changed me so much. I went from absolutely hating the build of my body, feeling weak and lacking all self-confidence to embracing my large quads, traps, and shoulders (for days).

Screen shot 2014-06-29 at 7.12.46 PM

0600-0645: Sip my morning happiness in a cup, respond to J’s email that I received overnight, listen to a solid playlist, throw breakfast together.

I love this time of the day because it’s the closest to ‘normal’ that J and I can have while he’s away. 90% of the time I have an e-mail waiting for me either when I wake up or after CrossFit. I rely on those every day.

Screen shot 2014-06-29 at 7.15.03 PM

0700-1600: Be on that work grinds.. e-mails, phone calls, teleconferences, meetings, etc. {someone pay to send me back to school so I can have a job that doesn’t sit at a desk all.day.long…} Some days I love my job when I’m busy but most days I have so much free-time I go nuts and work on studying for my Personal Trainer exam. While J is away it’s important for me to stay as busy as possible so this job hasn’t been the best to me since he’s been gone.

Screen shot 2014-06-29 at 7.18.12 PM

1600-1800: Workout #2. I follow Krissy Mae’s strength training programming and try to get a second workout in 5 times a week. I don’t do it because I feel like I HAVE to but rather because I WANT to. I am happiest in the box/gym and working out. I’d rather be building bigger muscles than building a bigger ass sitting on couch watching the TV all night..although sometimes that happens too… 😉

1800-2100:  Make dinner, do some blogging, Pinterest, Netflix… just try to relax. Right when I crawl in bed I do some journaling in the journal J got me before he left. Writing has always served as therapeutic for me and it’s been helping me significantly.

So that’s that. It’s pretty boring and standard but it works for me. Routine is something I need being someone ridden with anxiety and increasing OCD. Eeee.

What’s your day like? Is there a certain way you love to start your day?

2 thoughts on “A Day in the Life: My New {Loved} Normal

  1. carrie

    i love that grump cat GIF. lol for real tho. i have turned in to such a late sleeper with my new job so i feel like such a bum that your so active and productive in the morning! i’ll be that way again some day i swear.

    Reply
  2. A Runnaroundd Life

    My day looks almost exactly like yours…except I don’t get up at 430. I try to get in a second workout most days, too, because even though it’s mentally tough to make myself get there, once I’m sweating and working hard I feel so good. It’s the best after a long day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

