The Weekender: Cramming All the Fun

What an amazing weekend! I knew that August was going to be full of social commitments since it is my month off of Army drilling–but I had no idea it was going to be this busy. Turns out I’ll be heading back to the “lovely” Fort Leonard Wood for 7.5 weeks; 7 Sep-30 Oct. I am going to a course there that will be huge for my military career, and I am very fortunate!

That just means that I have to enjoy the few days I have left before I head back down to FLW. This weekend did not disappoint.

On Friday we actually had a pass day to go tubing down the Wisconsin River! I was skeptical about going because I have quite the to-do list to tackle before I leave work for almost two months. But I’m so glad I took the pass day to enjoy myself. Not much beats a 78 degree, not a cloud in the sky day to tube down the river with a few adult beverages. Note to self… use more sunscreen. I forgot I’m not a dark lifeguard like I used to be every August the past few years.

Screen shot 2014-08-17 at 5.43.12 PM

Saturday I woke up before the sun, per usual. But this time it was for a super romantic ‘date’… my best friends in-laws live on a lake and own two kayaks. She met me there with Starbucks in tow and we did a sunrise kayak. It was very peaceful to be out there on the glass lake catching up with a best friend. Almost like all the madness and chaos in real life didn’t exist.

Screen shot 2014-08-17 at 5.45.22 PM

After a quick nap I got ready for a weekend away in Illinois! My roommate from senior year (Ari) works in Chicago and J’s mom lives in a suburb of Chicago. Ari and I met and did some shopping at a nearby outlet mall, saw The Giver (which was amazing and I highly recommend everyone go see it while it’s still in theatre), and went out for sushi. Yum yum! I sure miss living close to her but we always pick up right where we left off.

Screen shot 2014-08-17 at 5.48.21 PM

It’s funny how we used to be able to go out until bar-time and throw back the beverages; now us old ladies were in our pajamas by 10pm and only managed to have 4 beers out of our 6 pack. My how times change :p

This morning I was incredibly nervous… I was meeting J’s mom for brunch. Doesn’t sound like a big deal but I hadn’t met her yet and J obviously wasn’t there.

{{Side note: Really glad I had went shopping at the outlet mall and picked up an outfit from Banana Republic because the dress I brought to wear to brunch wouldn’t zip over my back…. }}

Screen shot 2014-08-17 at 5.50.33 PM

Turns out I had not a single reason to be nervous to meet her. Right away she gave me a huge hug and I felt like I had known her for years… almost like I was included in the family already. The time flew and we had such great conversation. It was a bit bittersweet; another thing crossed off the list for when he gets home, but it really made me miss him extra much today. But I just keep busy and remind myself another day that passes since I’ve seen him is another day closer until I see him again 🙂 

The rest of the day has consisted of a workout, cleaning, and about to do more studying. It’s going to be incredibly difficult to study for my PT exam in November now that I’m going to this military course. Real glad that I have a re-take voucher just in case I can’t study enough. I always bite off more than I can chew–and now another huge opportunity has come my way too. Stay tuned for that one. It’s big!

Funny how things just work out when you let them.

Screen shot 2014-08-17 at 5.54.53 PM 

Real busy work week coming and my first CrossFit competition is next weekend–eeek!

How was your weekend? Big end of summer plans coming up?

 

4 thoughts on “The Weekender: Cramming All the Fun

  1. Brittany

    I LOVE that you went to meet J’s mom without him there, that is huge and totally scary!! You are awesome. You LOOKED awesome too, no reason for her not to adore you. I am so jealous of that sunrise kayak adventure omg.

    Reply
    1. kcriemer Post author

      lets swap sunrise kayaks for mountain hiking for a day!! 🙂
      i figured i gotta do everything i can to make it easier once he’s home to get a move on things. and she was such a doll!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

