Dreams Come True

Screen shot 2014-08-28 at 5.55.54 PM

It won’t come as a surprise to anyone who’s been around a while that I am not 100% happy with the job that I have. I work full-time for the National Guard and while it has great incentives and I do have some awesome co-workers, working in HR/Admin is not something I want to make a career out of. I’m not meant to sit at a desk all day typing away and answering phone calls.

Screen shot 2014-08-28 at 5.59.13 PM

A few weeks ago I had a conversation with my incredibly wise mother. She told me not to feel defeated; that I’m young and that the right job will come along for me in time but for now I should wait to make any big decisions until J is back from his deployment. I was quick to respond, quite snarky I’ll add, “mom, a profession I want is not going to just fall into my life… I have to be proactive about it“.

Screen shot 2014-08-28 at 6.02.11 PM

Well about a week later one heck of an opportunity really did just fall into my lap. I was just doing my thing at my CrossFit box and one of the coaches confronted me asking if I ever thought of coaching. My mouth got ahead of me and I blurted out HELL YES.

Wellll….my CrossFit box is going to pay 50% of my CrossFit Level One certification fee! There’s a possibility I’ll be attending the certification in September when I’m down at Fort Leonard Wood but otherwise will have to wait until November But that’s right y’all… I’m going to be a CrossFit coach and I cannot tell you how excited that makes me.

Screen shot 2014-08-28 at 6.06.59 PM

While it is just part-time, and I will not get paid for it, it’s a HUGE resume booster for a career I do wish to pursue in the fitness industry. I may not be getting paid but I get to do something I’m passionate about; help people become better athletes! Additionally, I will have a key to the gym so I no longer have to pay memberships at my box or my Anytime Fitness and I can go in and work on my olympic lifting at my leisure. Could it get any better?!

Screen shot 2014-08-28 at 6.11.17 PM

The best things come to those who fight day in and day out for what they want and truly believe in. Never give up on your dreams cause you never know just how close you are to achieving it!

3 thoughts on “Dreams Come True

Leave a Reply

