Remember

Most of you are all celebrating Memorial Day this weekend–it’s easy to think of it as a long weekend, BBQs, friends/family & the kickstart of summer. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t appreciate the fact that I have a 4 day weekend… but there’s so much more to it than that. This year I am even more emotional about the holiday as with each year I serve I am thankful for never being put in harms way.

Please remember what this holiday is all about. It is for my brothers and sisters in arms who gave the ultimate sacrifice protecting OUR freedoms that we take for granted each and every day. For those families who lost husbands, dads, sons, wives, mothers, daughters, friends… who mourn every single day.

Image

It’s very easy to get caught up in the BBQs and fun…. but look at that picture and let it sink in for a moment. To that widow and her son… Memorial Day is about remembering those who didn’t get to come back home to their families and loved ones.

And take a moment to think of those who are overseas still supporting OEF. I thank God daily that J made it back home safely from his tour to Iraq in 2007, because many didn’t have that luxury.

A hero is someone who has given his life to something bigger than oneself.

-Joseph Campbell

Leave a comment